

Public Holidays – Managers Guide

Employees are also entitled to nine public holidays in accordance with the Organisation of Working Time Act, 1997, and any other day decreed by the Taoiseach as a national holiday:

- New Year's Day (January 1)
- St Patrick's Day (March 17)
- Easter Monday
- First Monday in May
- First Monday in June
- First Monday in August
- Last Monday in October
- Christmas Day (December 25)
- St Stephen's Day (December 26)

In respect of each public holiday, an employee (at the employer's discretion) is entitled to compensation for public holidays in one of the following ways

- A paid day off on the holiday, or
- A paid day off within the month, or
- An extra day's annual leave, or
- An extra day's pay.

Part time employees are entitled to certain public holidays entitlements if they work at least 40 hours during the five weeks coming up to the public holidays, ending on the day before the public holiday.